Bjelkeman's travel notes

Travels with the cloud in my pocket.

Heroes: Becky Straw at The AdVenture Project

Adventure Project World Water Day

The Adventure Project was co-founded by Beck Straw, a friend and hero of mine. The Adventure Project is a non-profit organization established last year to increase investments in positive social enterprises around the world.

During for World Water Day they pledged, with the help of a whole bunch of bloggers, to help raise money for a particular water project. I promised to help them, but I was sick and didn’t manage to get my pen out yesterday. But I will write about them anyway, as I really like what they do.

Becky used to work for Charity: Water before she started the Adventure Project. I met her in Istanbul at the World Water Forum, where she presented at the “Thinking outside the water box session” the session before me.

The next thing I am going to do, is click on the banner above, and donate money to the project they are supporting in India. The money is used to train and employ handpump mechanics. And if you like me, have been in India, then you know there is a big pent-up demand for that. Lots of broken hand pumps.

To wrap it up, here is a short video which @charmermark filmed of Becky, when she worked with Charity: Water, together with Ian Thorpe, then at PumpAid.

[blip.tv ?posts_id=2759081&dest=-1]

Filed under: Crowd-sourcing, Heroes

About Bjelkeman

thomas@bjelkeman.com

Co-director: Akvo Foundation

+46-8-626 7609

More about Thomas Bjelkeman-Pettersson

@bjelkeman on Twitter

